1860 gown

St Audries Shoot-9

I have never done a proper  day 1860 kit before –  yes, did ballgowns and bridal versions, but not day dresses – and not for me!  I didn’t actually need one either, but when I saw that wool it just screamed late 50ties, early 60ties to me – and my will power failed me. I got the wool and put it in the fabric shed…

IMG_20141120_124435

Over the next few months I  acquired a crinoline cage and experimented with the corsetry for the era too….

LJP_6585

Still, I was too busy dealing with commissions and stock items, so the project, and the fabric was still waiting. Then we decided to go to St. Audries Park  ball –  and I was kicked into a whirl of activity The venue is amazing ( indeed it is our wedding venue, and we held a short bridal shoot there too), and since we could all arrive early in the afternoon, we decided it would be a perfect place to shoot some Victorian frockage – the 1860 one included:-)

No time to rework the corsets, and since we would be shooting other eras,  I decided to save time needed to swap corsetry and stay in my 1880 corset – it did provide the right shape, as it turned out.

What I did need was a proper petticoat…. 6m of cotton and tedious pink tucks sewing, the petticoat was ready 🙂

St Audries Shoot-4

St Audries Shoot-1

IMG_20141119_213017

detail of the pintucks and lace – and the inevitable moggy under the crinoline….

I was happy with that -time for the skirts….

Not too difficult a job, though it needed a lot of seams – the fabric I had was vintage and narrow….

IMG_20141119_211022

80cm wide…

lots of hemming and pleating was done, and the hem was decorated with a wide velvet ribbon  in deep olive …

IMG_20141120_123019

Bodice next – I didn’t have a pattern, and so based mine on original items found online ( my pinterest board is here), cross – referenced with pattern diagrams from Jean Hunnisett.

Mock up being more or less shaped – just getting the seam placements here, I did the detailed shaping on myself wearing a corset…

IMG_20141119_215518

Once that was done, it was time to cut the fabric and lining….

IMG_20141120_135130

and stitch the thing up.

The seams are boned, turned to the side and secured. the edges are faced with the same fabric

IMG_20141125_115246

The sleeves were a modest pagoda style, trimmed with the olive velvet ribbon and a pleated satin ribbon on the inside of the cuffs.   Buttons were a nice eBay find – a velvet covered metal buttons, vintage 🙂

Chemisette with a plain collar and undersleeves with lawn and lace were next…

IMG_20141119_234949

close up on the sleeves – work in progress

and then, there was the bonnet – a spoon straw bonnet from Dressing History, trimmed with the following:

1 inside – a lawn lining and a cotton lace ruffle, paper and silk flowers

2. outside – combination of velvet ribbon, satin ribbon and pleated satin ribbon…. edges and bavolet in silk taffeta

The stockings and shoes from American Duchess  :-),  chemise in cotton and split drawers in cotton too –  and am wearing my corset in silk taffeta

IMG_20141122_153229

oops!

The result – well, I was amazed at how fetching the style was – I looked positively sweet, a perfect disguise for my somewhat grumpy personality ( and a grumpy mood on the day as I was suffering from a nasty cold) – must the be hat;-)

It was a fun style to wear and something tells me I am not done with the 1860ties yet! 🙂

The photos by Pitcheresque Imagery, and the dress etc by Prior Attire

hope you like it!

St Audries Shoot-14

St Audries Shoot-13

St Audries Shoot-10

St Audries Shoot-8

St Audries Shoot-5

St Audries Shoot-2

St Audries Shoot-9

St Audries Shoot-11

8 thoughts on “1860 gown

  1. I love your emails you are so darn clever! your attention to detail is much admired….do you plan any more side saddle habits esp love those as a rider myself! kind regards hazel (new zeland) Date: Mon, 24 Nov 2014 19:14:46 +0000 To: skp31@hotmail.com

  2. I’m making a very similar bodice from a truly victorian pattern. I’m making undersleaves while I wait for the fabric and pattern to arrive. Could you please tell me how the undersleeves are attached. Do you pin them to the bodice sleeve or is there some kind of arm garter I’m supposed to use?

    • hello there – look at the link to the Pinterest I posted – many of them don’t seem to have much in a way of attachment. I made mine tight enough so that they sit just above the elbow comfortably – and it worked. I ‘t be surprised if there were ties or buttons in some cases though!

  3. Pingback: A Damsel in This Dress

  4. Pingback: Making a Mid Victorian Ball Gown | A Damsel in This Dress

  5. Pingback: Making a round Crinoline Cage | A Damsel in This Dress

Leave a Reply

